Cookies

Ok, so anyone that knows me knows that I am completely useless at cooking ‘proper’ food. I’m not kidding, the other day it took me about half an hour to work out how to open a tin of tuna. And i’ve almost burnt my kitchen down multiple times. Oops.

I am however, acceptable at cooking sweet things like cakes and cookies (when I live on my own I think I might have to just survive on cake).

Today once I got home from work, (literally had the customers from hell today good god), I decided to make some cookies to try and de-stress.

This recipe is egg free (not because I have any allergies, simply because I never seem to actually have any eggs in my house), and it’s really quick and easy. If you like super sweet things, give this a go 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 200g (7oz) of plain flour
  • 85g (3oz) of butter
  • 2 tablespoons of golden syrup
  • 55g (2oz) of caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 dessert spoon of water
  • Toppings of your choice!! I went for little white chocolate stars.

IMG_3803

IMG_3805Step One

Heat the butter, sugar and syrup in a pan, making sure it doesn’

IMG_3809Step Two

Sieve the flour into a large bowl, and then pour in your melted ingredients.

IMG_3810Step Three

Dissolve the bicarbonate of soda in the water and add to the other ingredients.

IMG_3812Step Four

Combine all of the ingredients together to form a dough.

IMG_3813Step Five

Take golf-ish size balls of dough and place them on an oiled baking tray.

You will need to bake them for about 10 minutes at 190Celsius (gas mark 5, 376Fahrenheit), however, the timing really depends on whether you want your cookies to be soft or crunchy- keep an eye on them and take them out of the oven when they are to your liking 🙂

Step Six

Decorate and enjoy!!

IMG_3815

Ok, I may have left these in the oven slightly too long, but you get the idea.

Did you all have a fantastic weekend?

À bientôt!!

6 thoughts on “Cookies

  1. Hey Holly!
    I can’t cook/bake very well either. Who knew 1 1/2 cup of flour meant one and a half, not just one half cup. Haha. That was disastrous…

    Anyways, your cookies look yummy, the little stars make them look so adorable!

    -M

  2. Holly,
    Great post! I love that you did a how-to. I’m also hopeless at cooking real food, but I have a knack and a love for baking sweets. I’ll be attempting to make these soon!

    Xo,
    MB

    • Hey!
      Thank you so much, i’m glad i’m not the only one that fails at cooking real food haha 😀
      Oooh if you make them you definitely have to let me know how they turn out!
      Much love,
      Holly 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

