Velvet

So, recently I’ve been super aware of all the velvet pieces that are appearing in our shops, and can I say, I love it.

When I was really young, I vividly remember my mum buying me a dress for christmas, an adorable little dress made of velvet. I used to love this dress so much- it made me feel like a princess and I would insist on wearing it everywhere, my mum literally had to bribe me to wear other clothes. So, I think this must be where my underlying love of the current trend comes from.

I was playing around on polyvore today, and I’ve created a few outfits using different aspects of velvet.

Velvet dress

This dress is one of my absolute favourites. Peter pan dresses are a cute style that I have always loved, and I think it really works well with the velvet and the hot colour of 2012, oxblood.
I picked accessories that match the mood of the dress, as well as creating a variation of colour and texture within the outfit.
The idea of velvet blazers make me really happy, and I am going to have to buy one VERY SOON.
Here I decided to pair it with jeans of a similar colour, along with a light coloured top and light coloured matching accessories to break up and highlight the blazer itself.
Blouses with bows are always a cute investment, they go with numerous things and add slightly more interest than a blouse of the same colour without the bow would. Lets just say I have more than I need in my wardrobe… oops!
Annnnd finally, an outfit similar to what you would see me in every single day of my life.
I love love love the combination of skater skirts paired with pretty blouses. I love high heeled boots and structured bags.
Here I have added a cute bangle as an accessory, which is something I wouldn’t usually particularly consider. I dont really have many bangles but this one was just too adorable to ignore.
This skirt is so lovely, I have something similar to it in my own wardrobe and it is one of my absolute favourites.
Here’s a link to my polyvore account, just incase anything here has taken your fancy and you want to know where it’s from! 🙂
So, do you guys like the velvet trend? Let me know because the more comments I get, the more you make my day 🙂
See you tomorrow!
À bientôt!!
8 thoughts on “Velvet

  1. I really liked the velvet trend too, I saw some leggings in Topshop that were velvet and I really wanted them so much! I love the final outfit too! But those moustache shoes. Wow. Just Mindblow. Okay haha. xx Karen.

      • Heeey Karen!
        The moustache shoes are seriously great, oh and topshop is literally the best shop in the world haha!
        I used to be really into polyvore too, but i deleted my account a couple of months back- but i couldnt resist making a new one for this post hahahah!
        I followed you, can i just say the outfits you’ve made are so so gorgeous ❤

        -Holly xxx

Leave a Reply

